In the State of Rhode Island, anyone over the age of 18 that engages in the act of sexual penetration with someone under the age of sexual consent, 16, and over the age of 14 is automatically guilty of 3rd Degree Sexual Assault or commonly known as Statutory Rape, this crime carries serious consequences.
Sex crimes in Rhode Island are punished aggressively by state Prosecutors and regardless of consent or even coercion by the victim, you could be facing serious charges including up to 5 years of imprisonment.
Do not wait. If you are being investigated, charged, or arrested for a sex crime in Rhode Island, Massachusetts or Connecticut, Contact Sexual Assault Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald IMMEDIATELY at (401) 421-1440 for a free consultation and to start protecting your rights and your life.
Are you under investigation for Third Degree Sexual Assault or Statutory Rape?
If you become aware that you are being investigated for any sexual assault charge time is a factor. You should seek legal counsel immediately and cease any conversations with investigators or the police until you have spoken to your attorney. Regardless of innocence or the circumstances of the incident sex crimes in Rhode Island are punished vigorously. The consequences can be extensive, not just for the fines and jail time you might serve, but the far-reaching impact on your ability to get a job and have your activities monitored by the state.
If you or a loved one has been arrested or charged speak with a lawyer experienced with this type of crime immediately. Make sure that lawyer is an experienced trial attorney that has experience defending these charges, from investigation, preparation, interviewing witnesses and negotiation through indictment and trial. You want someone that is dedicated to going to trial to defend your rights and will overturn every detail in the process.
Your actual innocence often has very little to do with an outcome in a case so having the right representation is everything. With over 17 years of criminal defense and trial experience, John E. MacDonald is considered one of the best criminal defense lawyers in the State of Rhode Island. His practice focuses on trial cases involving felony-level crimes. Contact Third Degree Sexual Assault Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald at (401) 421-1440 for a FREE CONSULTATION today.
Defining 3rd Degree Sexual Assault and Statutory Rape
Rhode Island defines third-degree sexual assault as sexual penetration of any victim between the ages of 14 and 16, even without coercion or force, and must involve penetration of the vagina, anus, or mouth. It should be clear that consent from a child does not make any kind of sexual act legal in any form whatsoever.
§ 11-37-6 Third-degree sexual assault. – A person is guilty of third-degree sexual assault if he or she is over the age of eighteen (18) years and engaged in sexual penetration with another person over the age of fourteen (14) years and under the age of consent, sixteen (16) years of age.
Penalties for Third Degree Sexual Assault in Rhode Island
Any degree of sexual assault is a felony in the state of Rhode Island, and third degree sexual assault is no exception with a penalty of up to 5 years in prison, mandatory therapy, registering as a sex offender, and the possibility of fines. Penalty as defined by the State of Rhode Island
§ 11-37-7 Penalty for third degree sexual assault. – Every person who shall commit sexual assault in the third degree shall be imprisoned for not more than five (5) years.
If you are being investigated, charged or have been arrested for a sex crime in Rhode Island, Massachusetts or Connecticut, please contact Criminal Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald at (401) 421-1440 now for a free consultation and go over your statutory rape defense strategies.
We can come to you if you have been incarcerated. CALL TODAY!
Trial Attorney John E. MacDonald handles sex crimes cases in the following areas (and more):
First (1st) Degree Sexual Assault or Rape
Second (2nd) Degree Sexual Assault
Third (3rd) Degree Sexual Assault or Statutory Rape
First (1st) Degree Child Molestation
Second (2nd) Degree Child Molestation
Rhode Island Statutory Rape Defense Lawyer John E. MacDonald
The Law Office of Rhode Island Criminal Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald is open 24 Hours to hear about your case. Our law office is conveniently located in Providence, Rhode Island. Schedule a free consultation (401) 421-1440. Don’t leave your freedom to chance contact one of our Rhode Island Third Degree Sexual Assault Attorneys today and start your defense.
Rhode Island Third Degree Sexual Assault Attorney Office
DISCLAIMER: This site and any information contained herein are intended for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. Seek competent legal counsel for advice on any legal matter. Also, the Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.