- Criminal Defense
In the State of Rhode Island allegations of Child Molestation are treated as the most serious of offenses. State Prosecutors are very aggressive with their pursuit of convictions for anyone accused and arrested for these types of crimes. Regardless of the degree of alleged assault they will prosecute to the highest degree of the law. Consequences are severe for those found guilty.
If you or a loved one is being charged or investigated for charges of child molestation cease all conversations with law enforcement and contact an experienced criminal defense trial lawyer immediately. Contact Second Degree Child Molestation Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald at (401) 421-1440 now for a free consultation.
If you become aware that you are being investigated for Second Degree Child Molestation it is imperative that you seek qualified legal counsel. Your legal counsel should have experience defending these charges, from investigation through indictment and trial. It is crucial that you obtain the correct legal advice as to what extent you will cooperate with this investigation. There are some cases where an interview with police makes perfect sense and other times that it does not. Your actual innocence has very little to do with this decision.
Any type of sexual assault charge has the potential to destroy your career, and even your family. A second degree child molestation charge intensifies this due to severe penalties and the sensitivity of the public toward the safety and well being of children. Regardless of innocence or guilt, just having friends, family or coworkers find out about a charge can turn your life upside down, which is why you should know your rights, and the laws in Rhode Island. Please be aware that child molestation is a form of child abuse, which is defined as endangering the physical or mental health of a child via excessive, or harmful punishment, sexual exploitation, neglect, or abandonment.
Conviction of this crime not only carries severe jail terms but offenders will be required to not only register as a sex offender in the state of Rhode Island.
If you are, or know of a child that is being abused in any way you are obligated to immediately contact The Department for Children, Youth and Families (DCYF) at (401) 528-3502. DCYF will hold an investigation into the well being of the child and any information such as names, addresses or any other personal information about you will be strictly confidential.
The State of Rhode Island defines second degree child molestation as any type of lascivious touching of a child 14 years old or youngers intimate body parts. It is important to be aware that a child’s consent does not alter the crime, or the penalty in any way. The one key factor that separates second degree child molestation from first degree, is whether or not there is penetration of the vagina, anus, or mouth by any part of an adults body, or by a foreign object.
A person is guilty of a second degree child molestation sexual assault if he or she engages in sexual contact with another person fourteen (14) years of age or under.
If you have been charged, arrested, or even just investigated you need to defend your rights and privacy immediately. The affects on your life will be far reaching even if the accusations are false. Call an experienced and aggressive sex crimes trial attorney immediately. With over 20 years experience as a trial attorney and former Rhode Island Public Defender, John MacDonald understands how important the first steps are to your successful defense and case outcome.
Call Rhode Island Sex Crimes Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald today at 401.421.1440 or EMAIL us today for a FREE CONSULTATION. We can come to you if you have been detained or incarcerated by the state.
All sex crimes of any degree are felonies in the state of Rhode Island, and second degree child molestation offers the maximum possibility of up to 30 years in prison and requires a minimum sentence of 6 years. This may include serious fines, mandatory inclusion into a sex offender database, and mandatory therapy or treatment.
Every person who shall commit second degree child molestation sexual assault shall be imprisoned for not less than six (6) years nor more than thirty (30) years.
If you are being investigated, charged or arrested for a sex crime in Rhode Island, Massachusetts or Connecticut, please contact Criminal Defense Attorney John E. MacDonald at (401) 421-1440 now for a free consultation.
We can come to you if you have been incarcerated. CALL TODAY!
Trial Attorney John E. MacDonald handles sex crimes cases in the following areas (and more):
DISCLAIMER: This site and any information contained herein are intended for informational purposes only and should not be construed as legal advice. Seek competent legal counsel for advice on any legal matter. Also, the Rhode Island Supreme Court licenses all lawyers in the general practice of law, but does not license or certify any lawyer as an expert or specialist in any field of practice.
© 2021 , Inc. All rights reserved.